Share @:

“It’s nice to be in orbit!”

Meta.Morf 2016 / Conference @ Kosmorama, Nova kino.

Saturday March 12, 2016 at NOVA Kino, theatre 9 from 10:00 to 17:30. FREE ENTRANCE: First-in, First-served!

Meta.Morf 2016 connects us with an expanding reality, not just as the spaceship crew on one brilliant planet, but as many civilizations. Perhaps, facing the prospect that we are no longer Earthbound but are now free to roam, we can set a different course than Ed White, the first American to spacewalk during the Gemini 4 mission on 3 June 1965, who observed, “I’m coming back in… and it’s the saddest moment of my life.”Rachel Armstrong
Professor of Experimental Architecture, Newcastle University.
Curator and moderator of the 2016 Meta.Morf conference.


Krists Ernstsons / Bernard Foing / Cath Le Couteur / Nelly Ben Hayoun / Rolf Hughes / Barbara Imhof / Bas Lansdorp / Lucy McRae / Nick Ryan / Tomás Saraceno / Douglas Trumbull

Mars One – Transit Habitat A
Mars One – Settlement
Mars One –  Habitat 10
Orion Model Fliming Shot #1 RTP
the soyuz chair by Nelly Ben Hayoun, picture by Nick Ballon- 2009
Rachel Armstong – Artificial Meat – Black 3
Rachel Armstong – Artificial Meat – Tissue 51 copy
13 artificial wormhole
03 tracing chemicals
02 tracing gases
01 tracing rock and iron
Adrift – Orbital Mechanics Simulator
Douglas Trumbull
Frederick De Wilde
We are all explorer fish – Sarah Jane Pell
Barbara Imhof


“It’s nice to be in orbit!”

Article by Dr. Rachel Armstrong

A haunting fragment of conversation captured between Houston ground control and an unnamed astronaut on the Discovery shuttle that observes, “It’s nice to be in orbit”, is remarkable in its ordinariness. Indeed, it has become the title of this fourth Trondheim Biennale for art and technology, Meta.Morf 2016, in signaling how we’ve begun to normalize the idea of living beyond the Earth’s atmosphere, which is regarded as our conventional limits of existence.

We have already continually inhabited the International Space Station for sixteen years, the first extraterrestrial home. Yet, since Sputnik 1 was launched into orbit in 1957, we have been sending machines to steadily extend our presence further into interplanetary space. Now these probes are even set to venture beyond the heliosphere and journey onwards into interstellar space, where we will most likely lose contact with them.

Yet there is no single reason ‘why’ we choose to leave our home planet.

KOSMORAMA, NOVA KINO, movie theatre # 9, Saturday March 12, 2016. FREE ENTRANCEFIRST-IN, FIRST-SERVED!

“It’s nice to be in orbit!”

Conference program. March 12, 10:00 – 17:30 hr.

10:00 Rachel Armstrong / Espen Gangvik
 10:15 “Beyond Singularity”
Frank Da Silva
Short movie.
 10:25 Rolf Hughes
Research leader, Professor, University of the Arts, Stockholm. Expert in artistic research and new knowledge creation through artistic practice.
 10:50 Lucy McRae
Science fiction artist, director and self proclaimed body architect probing the frontiers of the body, health and human adaptability.
 11:15 Krist Ernstsons
Architect particularly interested in systems, ecological efficiency, biochemistry and physics as the new ways through which Architecture can become more than just buildings.
 11:40 Bas Lansdorp
Co-Founder & CEO of Mars One. It is Mars One’s goal to establish a permanent human settlement on Mars from 2027.
 12:15 Film premiere!
“We are alle explorer fish”
Sarah Jane Pell
Short movie co-commissioned by Trondheim Electronic Arts Centre for Meta.Morf 2016.
 12:25  Lunch
 13:15 Nelly Ben Hayoun
Dubbed the Willy Wonka of design and science, award-winning director and designer, critical explorer and a fearless and passionate provocateur.
 13:45 Bernard Foing
Senior scientist at the European Space Agency (ESA), father of SMART-1 first European mission to the Moon and Executive Director of the International Lunar Exploration Working Group (ILEWG).
 14:10 Cath Le Couteur / Nick Ryan
Le Couteur is a filmmaker screened at festivals all around the world, including Cannes, Berlinale, Sundance. She recently received with Nick Ryan the inaugural Open Call Award from The Space to develop the interactive art project ‘Adrift,’ which will preview at Meta.Morf 2016. Nick Ryan is an audio specialist, sound designer, composer and artist widely recognised for his uniquely conceptual approach to creating audio experiences.
 14:35 Barbara Imhof
Architect, design researcher and managing director and co-founder of LIQUIFER Systems Group, a trans-disciplinary platform engaged in designing our future on Earth and in space.
 15:00 “S0N01R”
Frederik De Wilde
Short movie.
 15:05 Tomás Saraceno
Saraceno investigates our living environments, their conceptual design, and speculative futures through merging art,  architecture, and science in his practice.
 15:30  Break
 15:50 Douglas Trumbull
Legendary filmmaker and visual effects pioneer. Trumbull was one of the Special Photographic Effects Supervisors for  2001: A Space Odyssey (1968).
 17:20  Wrap up

See all speakers’ conference synopses, their bios and other background info by following the indivual links beneath.
Short movies @ the conference